]> Witch of Git - web/blog/log
web/blog
9 months agoMake webrings sort by title blog
Cassie Jones [Mon, 7 Feb 2022 01:52:26 +0000 (20:52 -0500)]
Make webrings sort by title

9 months agoUpdate eleventy version
Cassie Jones [Mon, 7 Feb 2022 01:52:17 +0000 (20:52 -0500)]
Update eleventy version

9 months agoAdd friend webring stamps
Cassie Jones [Mon, 7 Feb 2022 01:44:53 +0000 (20:44 -0500)]
Add friend webring stamps

9 months agoAdd friends webring
Cassie Jones [Mon, 7 Feb 2022 01:36:11 +0000 (20:36 -0500)]
Add friends webring

2 years agoFix some issues in the unification article
Cassie Jones [Thu, 26 Nov 2020 20:36:12 +0000 (15:36 -0500)]
Fix some issues in the unification article

Thanks to Onel Harrison

2 years agoOptimize favicon PNGs
Cassie Jones [Thu, 26 Nov 2020 02:47:54 +0000 (21:47 -0500)]
Optimize favicon PNGs

2 years agoDon't use a local path for syntax highlighting
Cassie Jones [Tue, 24 Mar 2020 02:26:48 +0000 (22:26 -0400)]
Don't use a local path for syntax highlighting

I want to be able to build my blog on other machines, so it's not
working anymore to depend on local paths. I got changes merged into
PrismJS so I can depend on a specific commit on GitHub now for that, and
the eleventy syntax highlighting plugin will use the PrismJS that's
installed as a specific dependency.

2 years agoFix a missing argument in "Syntactic Unification"
Cassie Jones [Mon, 9 Mar 2020 23:14:48 +0000 (19:14 -0400)]
Fix a missing argument in "Syntactic Unification"

Error mentioned by "Oracy" via email.

2 years agoYou don't spell "unify" as "uninfy"
Cassie Jones [Thu, 20 Feb 2020 22:23:11 +0000 (23:23 +0100)]
You don't spell "unify" as "uninfy"

2 years agoClarify the first sentence of the unification post
Cassie Jones [Thu, 20 Feb 2020 19:22:59 +0000 (20:22 +0100)]
Clarify the first sentence of the unification post

2 years agoUpdate some syntax highlighting
Cassie Jones [Thu, 20 Feb 2020 19:09:15 +0000 (20:09 +0100)]
Update some syntax highlighting

I added support for LLVM in my local build of Prism, and learned about
the shell-session language.

2 years agoFix some small wording changes
Cassie Jones [Thu, 20 Feb 2020 15:26:25 +0000 (16:26 +0100)]
Fix some small wording changes

2 years agoAdd a section on the occurs-check
Cassie Jones [Wed, 19 Feb 2020 15:12:31 +0000 (16:12 +0100)]
Add a section on the occurs-check

2 years agoAdd anchors to headings, typography tweaks
Cassie Jones [Wed, 19 Feb 2020 14:10:05 +0000 (15:10 +0100)]
Add anchors to headings, typography tweaks

I need anchors on headings so that I can link to a post-script note.
Might as well add more stuff while I'm at it >_<

2 years agoAvoid calc(700px + 9em) in media queries
Cassie Jones [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 23:53:32 +0000 (00:53 +0100)]
Avoid calc(700px + 9em) in media queries

I got a report that code blocks looked wrong on mobile. I was able to
reproduce in Chrome: they didn't get their margins properly updated by
the media query. Investigation revealed that apparently calc() with
mixed units is broken in media queries on Chrome.

https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=843584

What I'm seeing here seems worse than the issue described there, so
there might be other factors going on, but it worked perfectly in
Firefox so I'm not sure what's going on. >_<

2 years agoAdd syntactic unification post
Cassie Jones [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 23:24:56 +0000 (00:24 +0100)]
Add syntactic unification post

2 years agoUpdate copyright to 2020
Cassie Jones [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 18:19:11 +0000 (19:19 +0100)]
Update copyright to 2020

This one also reported on twitter by @florriestuck. Thanks again :D

2 years agoFix broken Let's Encrypt link
Cassie Jones [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 18:12:42 +0000 (19:12 +0100)]
Fix broken Let's Encrypt link

Pointed out on Twitter by @florriestuck, thanks!!

2 years agoWrite a post about how I do my Git hosting
Cassie Jones [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 17:03:39 +0000 (18:03 +0100)]
Write a post about how I do my Git hosting

2 years agoHide animated GIF stamps if "reduce motion" is on
Cassie Jones [Sat, 18 Jan 2020 00:44:30 +0000 (19:44 -0500)]
Hide animated GIF stamps if "reduce motion" is on

Some people have a hard time dealing with motions near text they're
reading, or just don't want to be dealing with animated content
generally. The (prefers-reduced-motion: reduce) media query is active
when the reader has enabled one of the associated accessibility features
on their device. We can use that to hide the animated "stamps" GIFs
which generally have very short, fast loops.

This code currently uses ".gif" as a proxy for "is animated", which
could be improved by having some additional metadata. Additionally, it
might be nice to have alternate still versions of the gifs displayed
when the animated ones are hidden.

2 years agoOops got the wrong URL
Cassie Jones [Wed, 8 Jan 2020 20:48:39 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Oops got the wrong URL

2 years agoAdd the lightning talk video to "0x A Presses"
Cassie Jones [Wed, 8 Jan 2020 20:44:32 +0000 (15:44 -0500)]
Add the lightning talk video to "0x A Presses"

3 years agoMore media card nonsense
Cassie Jones [Fri, 22 Nov 2019 16:59:17 +0000 (11:59 -0500)]
More media card nonsense

3 years agoDoes this make twitter cards work again
Cassie Jones [Fri, 22 Nov 2019 16:53:57 +0000 (11:53 -0500)]
Does this make twitter cards work again

3 years agoAdd wizardkicks.com to spicy coding alliance
Cassie Jones [Fri, 22 Nov 2019 16:46:50 +0000 (11:46 -0500)]
Add wizardkicks.com to spicy coding alliance

3 years agoAdd favicon
Cassie Jones [Fri, 22 Nov 2019 09:19:16 +0000 (04:19 -0500)]
Add favicon

3 years agoAdd STAMPS!!!!!!!!
Cassie Jones [Fri, 22 Nov 2019 08:50:03 +0000 (03:50 -0500)]
Add STAMPS!!!!!!!!

3 years agoAdd webrings code
Cassie Jones [Fri, 22 Nov 2019 08:49:37 +0000 (03:49 -0500)]
Add webrings code

3 years agoTweak archive styles to prevent dates wrapping
Cassie Jones [Wed, 13 Nov 2019 21:51:31 +0000 (16:51 -0500)]
Tweak archive styles to prevent dates wrapping

3 years agoStyle touch-ups
Cassie Jones [Wed, 13 Nov 2019 21:38:37 +0000 (16:38 -0500)]
Style touch-ups

3 years agoAdd tags to the data
Cassie Jones [Tue, 12 Nov 2019 05:57:50 +0000 (00:57 -0500)]
Add tags to the data

3 years agoAdd more footer links
Cassie Jones [Tue, 12 Nov 2019 05:35:23 +0000 (00:35 -0500)]
Add more footer links

3 years agoAdd background color to images
Cassie Jones [Tue, 12 Nov 2019 05:06:13 +0000 (00:06 -0500)]
Add background color to images

If an image is loading on a slow connection, it displays progressively
and there's a large blank region where the image will be. Giving it a
background color makes the eventual shape of the image display more
clearly.

3 years agoAdd HTML minification
Cassie Jones [Tue, 12 Nov 2019 05:02:52 +0000 (00:02 -0500)]
Add HTML minification

3 years agoMinify inline CSS, move syntax colors to bottom of page
Cassie Jones [Tue, 12 Nov 2019 04:37:37 +0000 (23:37 -0500)]
Minify inline CSS, move syntax colors to bottom of page

This improves both maintainability and performance because the CSS
can be written out-of-line, and then get inserted and minified.

The stylesheet tag for the syntax colors got moved to the bottom of
the page, because CSS in the head tag blocks rendering until it's
loaded. Inside the body is dependent on browsers, but they all support
it and in the worst case you just get the original blocking behavior.

3 years agoImprove .dim contrast
Cassie Jones [Mon, 11 Nov 2019 20:25:45 +0000 (15:25 -0500)]
Improve .dim contrast

3 years agoChange date formatter to fix timezones
Cassie Jones [Thu, 7 Nov 2019 01:07:13 +0000 (20:07 -0500)]
Change date formatter to fix timezones

3 years agoSet a fixed date for all drafts
Cassie Jones [Wed, 6 Nov 2019 21:52:35 +0000 (16:52 -0500)]
Set a fixed date for all drafts

3 years agoModify summary for "Modding Games and Freezing Fish"
Cassie Jones [Wed, 6 Nov 2019 21:50:23 +0000 (16:50 -0500)]
Modify summary for "Modding Games and Freezing Fish"

3 years agoAdd lots of empty draft files
Cassie Jones [Wed, 6 Nov 2019 21:33:52 +0000 (16:33 -0500)]
Add lots of empty draft files

3 years agoAdd "Modding Games and Freezing Fish"
Cassie Jones [Wed, 6 Nov 2019 21:33:30 +0000 (16:33 -0500)]
Add "Modding Games and Freezing Fish"

3 years agoTemplate improvements
Cassie Jones [Wed, 6 Nov 2019 21:32:00 +0000 (16:32 -0500)]
Template improvements

3 years agoAdd aside shortcode
Cassie Jones [Sun, 3 Nov 2019 21:17:02 +0000 (16:17 -0500)]
Add aside shortcode

3 years agoMake more mobile-friendly
Cassie Jones [Sun, 3 Nov 2019 21:16:49 +0000 (16:16 -0500)]
Make more mobile-friendly

3 years agoAdd some meta tags
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 22:04:43 +0000 (18:04 -0400)]
Add some meta tags

3 years agoRemove console.log
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 21:06:10 +0000 (17:06 -0400)]
Remove console.log

3 years agoArchive polish work
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 21:04:51 +0000 (17:04 -0400)]
Archive polish work

3 years agoEdit posts
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 20:13:17 +0000 (16:13 -0400)]
Edit posts

3 years agoStyle changes
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 19:13:46 +0000 (15:13 -0400)]
Style changes

3 years agoImage messing
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 19:11:20 +0000 (15:11 -0400)]
Image messing

3 years agoFix CNAME
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 07:30:29 +0000 (03:30 -0400)]
Fix CNAME

3 years agoAdd publish script
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 07:20:43 +0000 (03:20 -0400)]
Add publish script

3 years agoPolishing
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 07:15:53 +0000 (03:15 -0400)]
Polishing

3 years agoAdd docs to gitignore
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 05:53:31 +0000 (01:53 -0400)]
Add docs to gitignore

3 years agoAdd drafts
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 05:27:13 +0000 (01:27 -0400)]
Add drafts

3 years agoAdd a blog post about rust 0x a presses
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 05:26:09 +0000 (01:26 -0400)]
Add a blog post about rust 0x a presses

3 years agoAdd some posts from my old blog
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 05:25:34 +0000 (01:25 -0400)]
Add some posts from my old blog

3 years agoAdd more page setup stuff
Cassie Jones [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 05:25:12 +0000 (01:25 -0400)]
Add more page setup stuff

3 years agoAdd basic eleventy setup
Cassie Jones [Fri, 1 Nov 2019 23:54:53 +0000 (19:54 -0400)]
Add basic eleventy setup